Watkins Glen Marks 100th Race

May 31, 2013
Connery took the rain win at Lime Rock last weekend. (photo: Valet)

Sharon, CT – On Saturday June 29 at Watkins Glen International, round eight of the 2013 F2000 Championship Series season will mark the 100th race in Series history. Dating back to VIR in 2006, when just over 10 cars took the green flag, the Championship has grown and prospered, solidifying its place in open-wheel racing in North America.

 The Series will be awarding three extra prizes following the race in New York – trophies for overall winner, Masters Class winner, and in addition – the best drive of the race as deemed by Series officials.

Watkins Glen is a fitting location to host the 100th F2000 race, along with the Grand-Am Six-Hour event, as the track has hosted F2000 events almost every season, and produced some of the best races and biggest fields in Series history.

For the 2013 edition of the Watkins Glen weekend, Tim Minor leads the F2000 field in with a commanding 86-point Championship lead and five race wins. But Minor’s success has over-shadowed the consistency of Polestar’s David Grant, the reigning Atlantic Champion, sitting second in points. Grant could be in a new Spectrum chassis for Watkins Glen.

Following those two are four of the "kids,” aspiring drivers looking for greatness, with Kyle Connery coming off his first win in nearly two years. Better yet, Connery swept the Watkins Glen weekend in 2011 to close the season.

Behind Connery in the points are Kevin Kopp, Roberto Lorena and Federico Mosconi.

Those three are all fresh off podiums in the rain at Lime Rock Park. All three are looking for their first win and to leave their mark on a historic Series milestone.

In the coming weeks F2000Series.com will feature history snippets and more from the last eight years.

No items found.