Watkins Glen Makes Triumphant Return to 2018 FRP Schedule

November 1, 2017

Salem, NH – Watkins Glen International will be back on the 2018 Formula Race Promotions (FRP) schedule as the F1600, F2000 and Atlantic Championship Series will head to the historic facility May 11-13, 2018.

“We’re excited to announce the return of Watkins Glen International to our 2018 schedule,” commented FRP co-owners Al Guibord and Robert Wright. “It is one of the best tracks out there, and our competitors have been asking for it. It blends high speed with technical and challenging corners and has something for everyone. We look forward to our 2018 date after a hiatus year in 2017.”

F1600 Championship competitors will see their traditional triple-header format, while F2000 and Atlantic teams and drivers will each get two races.

All totaled, each Series can expect some three hours of track time around the 11-turn course.

FRP worked closely together with NARRA to secure the 2018 weekend date, and other support series are still expected to join the weekend.

FRP last went to Watkins Glen in 2016, where Matt McDonough and Steve Bamford each took home top honors in the F2000 Championship Series.

Three epic F1600 races saw Phillippe Denes take home two wins, split by Calvin Ming who won the second race of the weekend.  In Atlantic Championship Series competition, Ryan Norman swept the weekend on his way to the 2016 Championship title.

The track is an important part of FRP history, from weekends with IndyCar to a number of close title battles decided in the Finger Lakes Region.

The first-ever F1600 Championship title went to Bill Valet in 2011 in an October weekend at Watkins Glen.

In 2014, Ayla Agren became the first woman to win the F1600 Championship as she clinched the title in the final F1600 race of the weekend, while on the same day Tim Minor took home his second consecutive F2000 Championship in a thrilling race.

Next up, FRP expects to announce its full 2018 schedule by mid November. 

No items found.