Taylor Race Engineering to Sponsor Rookie of the Year

February 5, 2010
Benjamin Searcy was the 2009 rookie fo the year, winning three races

New York, NY – For 2010, the up-and-coming drivers of the F2000 Championship Series will be vying for the Taylor Race Engineering Rookie of the Year Award. Last season, the battle for Taylor Race Engineering Rookie of the Year honors went down to the wire at Mid-Ohio, with American Benjamin Searcy stamping his name on the trophy by taking a commanding victory on Saturday afternoon.

To be eligible for the award, coming into the 2010 season a driver must have two or less starts (no more than one weekend) in F2000 Championship Series competition. A points tally will be kept, using the series points system, with the two lowest races thrown out at the end of the year.

“We think the F2000 Series is an outstanding series for talent young drivers learning how to race competitively at a high level,” commented Scott Young, technical sales and service representative at Taylor Race Engineering.

“The atmosphere among drivers and the teams is conducive to learning and competing while having a great time. Taylor Race Engineering decided to sponsor the rookie of the year award last year and we’re going to do it again this year because we thrive on working with teams and drivers who are committed to excellence and learning the sport.”

For fans following the series, the rookie of the year battle should be highly entertaining as multiple new drivers are already registered for the 2010 season out of almost 30 total entries to date, and rumors circulating the paddock suggest even more are on their way.

Taylor Race Engineering also provides at-the-track service to many of the F2000 Championship Series teams throughout the season. The company has been in the driveline business for 35 years and has one of the largest inventories in racing. Taylor’s technicians have well oover a hundred years of racing experience, and the firm’s services range from gearbox repair to REM finishing, expert consultation, spare parts, custom pieces and trouble-shooting.

The 14-race, seven-weekend 2010 F2000 Championship Series gets going on April 9 at VIR, followed by Road Atlanta in May and Mosport in June. Then it’s Watkins Glen with IndyCar and Lime Rock with ALMS in July before Road America in August and the season finale at Mid-Ohio over Labor Day. The F2000 Series posted the highest average car count on the open wheel development landscape in 2008 and 2009 with an average of 30 entries per race.

No items found.