Summit Point to Host F2000's Glenn Phillips Memorial Classic

August 18, 2017

Salem, NH - Saturday afternoon's F2000 Championship Series race at Summit Point will be the second annual Glenn Phillips Memorial Classic, Formula Race Promotions announced today. Named in honor of long-time F2000 team owner Glenn Phillips, a commemorative trophy will go to the winner in memory Phillips, who passed away in 2015 after a battle with cancer.

The GTP Motorsports team owner was one of the founding F2000 teams when Formula Race Promotions launched the series in 2006.

Last season saw the first Memorial Classic go down in history books, as heavy rain on a restart caused chaos, with Matt McDonough coming out unscathed and driving under the checkered flag first on slick tires - a lap that took nearly four minutes at Watkins Glen International. McDonough, a long-time GTP Motorsports driver, was also the first-ever F2000 Champion, winning the crown in 2006.

Now another Phillips-favorite track plays host to his Memorial race, with Summit Point's Saturday afternoon F2000 race on August 26, round 11 of the 2017 season.

"Remind me to tell the story of Glenn dislocating his fingers at Summit Point," added McDonough.

While Brandon Dixon leads the point standings in F2000 on a solid season, with two wins in 10 starts, the Championship battle continues to evolve with John McCusker and Tim Paul trying to hunt down Dixon.

Two-time Champion Tim Minor is also expected at Summit Point, his home track.

No items found.