Series Releases Tentative 33-Car 2010 Entry List

March 29, 2010

New York, NY – The F2000 Championship Series released a tentative entry list for the 2010 season, which starts just around the corner on April 9 at VIR. The entry list is highlighted by a perfect mix of seasoned veterans and aspiring racers, a trend that has become a hallmark of the F2000 Series. And, the sheer number of cars is downright impressive too, with 33 cars, and more American drivers than any other open wheel series, listed for the opening rounds in Virginia.

Getting down to the specifics, returning F2000 drivers like Brazilians Victor Carbone and Fabio Orsolon, both driving for Alegra Motorsports, are expected to challenge for victories and the 2010 title. In addition is American Jonathan Scarallo, who returns for 2010, moving over to the R-Sport team, alongside Keith McCrone.

Canadian Remy Audette is back, planning a partial season, but is expected to be at the sharp end of the grid. Bobby Caldwell joins the young crowd, in for a full season under the Liberty Motorsports awning.

SMR adds two more Van Diemens to the grid, moving over from years of successful midget and sprint car racing. Timothy Paul is in the first team car, and will be joined by fellow American Blake Teeter, who drove for ADSA/Wright racing in 2009, for the opening round at VIR. Chris Livengood also makes his F2000 debut, driving the #37 for Work Racing out of Pennsylvania.

Audette mixing it up with both Alegra cars in 2009: this will happen again in 2010.

McLaughlin Motorsports joins SMR as a rookie F2000 team, but with plenty of karting and F1000 experience. Billy McLaughlin is entered to drive the #57, with a second car rumored to be added later in the year as the team awaits their Ralph Firman chassis package to arrive from the UK.

And as the clock ticks towards the opening rounds of 2010, K-Hill Motorsports, in conjunction with Greisiger Motorsports, is also on the initial entry list with 2007 F2000 Series Champion Cole Morgan driving the #1 RF06 Van Diemen.

GTP Motorsports is in and will field a handful of cars, with Phil Lombardi set to challenge for wins as he looks towards a run for the championship. Tom Fatur, last year’s Masters Class victor, joins Lombardi alongside Paul Farmer, and Peter Gonzalez. GTP will be the first team with the new Radon chassis, which right now, is tentatively set to make its debut during rounds three and four at Road Atlanta in May.

Jesse Yorio will have the newest hardware on the VIR grid, as he returns for his fourth season of competition in a brand new Piper out of the Company Motorsports stable with teammate Jeff McCusker.

The Masters Class championship will provide an additional storyline on the 2010 season, as Tim Minor, who won outright in dominating fashion at Summit Point last year, is planning to contest the entire season. Minor also had strong runs at VIR and Mid-Ohio, and could mix in for the run to the overall championship. Tom Fatur will be ready to defend his Masters Class crown as Dave Weitzenhof, seven-time SCCA National Champion, is also planning to run his Citation chassis. Rob Nicholas is expected to be in the hunt in his K-FAST entry as well.

Ardie Greenamyer is planning to run a full season after two events in 2009.

Additionally, ADSA/Wright will field three cars for Robert Wright, Al Guibord, Jr., and Al Guibord, Sr. The team is on the list to receive at least one new Radon chassis.

Craig Clawson, who has started every race since the series was born in 2006, comes back for his fifth season with Clawson Motorsports.

St. Clair Motorsports will continue to be part of the F2000 landscape for 2010, fielding Chris Gumprecht for his fourth season of F2000 racing, among various other entries including Mark Defer, Dan Denison and the rumored return of Bill Jordan.

The paddock grapevine suggests that many teams are finalizing deals and still in talks with numerous drivers who are looking for rides.

The entry list can be viewed under “drivers” on the F2000 Series website at .

The 14-race, seven-weekend 2010 F2000 Championship Series gets going on April 9 at VIR, followed by Road Atlanta in May and Mosport in June. Then it’s Watkins Glen with IndyCar and Lime Rock with ALMS in July before Road America in August and the season finale at Mid-Ohio over Labor Day. The F2000 Series posted the highest average car count on the open wheel development landscape in 2008 and 2009 with an average of 30 entries per race.

No items found.