Grant, Polestar Lead Practice

May 9, 2013
David Grant was quick in practice. (photo: Phil Kane)

Braselton, GA – After a sweep of both Road Atlanta pro Atlantic races in 2012, David Grant stayed on top, but this time in a Polestar Racing Group F2000 Van Diemen – setting the fastest time overall during three morning practice sessions for rounds three and four of the 2013 F2000 Championship Series.

Grant’s fast time came in the first session, at 1:25.225, ahead of points leader Tim Minor, Zach Craigo, Kevin Kopp and Sergio Pasian - who continues to vault up the order with every session.

Minor has run strong at Road Atlanta before, finishing on the podium and leading multiple times in F2000 events. The Masters Class veteran was sidelined for some of practice with a suspension issue on the Citation chassis the Ski Motorsports crew was working to correct.

Completing the top ten in the morning session were Brent Gilkes, Keith McCrone, Federico Mosconi, Roberto Lorena and multiple-time National Champion Dave Weitzenhof.

The WISKO cars of Kopp and Shane Morris are sporting an updated aero configuration as the team has elected to go with the “moustache” Van Diemen wing configuration that won the Championship in 2011 and 2012.

As the track conditions changed by practice three, Grant was fastest yet again, four tenths up on Craigo, and then it was Lorena, Pasian and Kyle Connery – who won two races at Road Atlanta in the No. 91 Van Diemen in 2011.

Qualifying for Friday’s first round at the 12-turn Road Atlanta gets going at 5:15 local time.


No items found.