Formula Race Promotions Completes Round Two at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course with Momentum

May 3, 2022

"Jam-packed weekend of racing in the books"

With the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course the second event weekend on the Formula Race Promotions (FRP) calendar, it is one that many of the series competitors look forward to. Racing at one of the United States’ most iconic facilities, teams and drivers look forward to the intense wheel-to-wheel battles as they hunt for race wins, podium results and valuable points towards the end of the year championship battle.

“With multiple classes competing, it was a jam-packed weekend of competition,” explained Bob Wright. “It was very nice to see the Atlantic drivers back with us as we continue to push and market that class as well as a strong field of F1600 drivers. We are again proving that FRP is the best bang for your buck in motorsports, and we will continue to push our safety as well as the quantity of green flag laps that we provide. We look forward to seeing you at the next one.”

Weekend Recap

Atlantic - Overall

Qualifying – Race 1

1.     Flinn Lazier – 1:22.802

2.     Dudley Fleck – 1:27.300

3.     Keith Grant – 1:27.505

4.     Lindsay Brewer – 1:28.014

5.     Austin Hill – 1:28.740

It was all Flinn Lazier in the first Atlantic wheel-to-wheel race of the weekend as he topped the overall results charts to score the victory in the twenty-one-lap race. Keith Grant was the best of the rest in the Swift 016 class to earn the second step on the podium ahead of another long time FRP supporter Dudley Fleck. Larry Howard was able to slot himself into the fourth position ahead of Richard Zober who ended his weekend in fifth with Austin taking the win in the Atlantic Open class.

Qualifying – Race 2

1.     Flinn Lazier – 1:16.009

2.     Keith Grant – 1:16.071

3.     Dudley Fleck – 1:18.258

4.     Larry Howard 1:17.840

5.     Richard Zober – 1:18.363

Flinn Lazier made it two-for-two on the weekend earning his second Atlantic Swift 016 race win in as many days, consistent and smooth, he was the dominant driver of the Atlantic class. Dudley Fleck was the best of the rest with a solid second place result as Richard Zober finished third on track and rounded out the Swift 016 podium. Austin Hill was the winner of the Atlantic Open class while he finished fourth overall, just ahead of Keith Grant


Qualifying – Race 1

1.     Thomas Schrage – 1:29.554

2.     Will Holtz – 1:29.966

3.     Hugh Esterson – 1:30.516

4.     Ayrton Houk – 1:30.637

5.     Nolan Allaer – 1:30.756

F1600 Masters

1.     Robert Perona

2.     Scott Rubenzer

3.     David Livingston

4.     Bob Reid

5.     Rob Albani

Thomas Schrage showed that he will fight for the F1600 championship in 2022 with the victory in the first F1600 race of the weekend as the top two qualifiers maintained their positions. Schrage scored the race win ahead of Will Holtz in second as Ayrton Houk managed to move forward from fourth to third on the results sheets disposing of the third place qualifier, Hugh Esterson. Jack Sullivan made his first appearance in the top-five of the weekend with a solid fifth place result. On the F1600 Masters side of the program, it was Bob Perona who added yet another victory in 2022 finishing sixth overall ahead of multi-time champion Scott Rubenzer and David Livingston Jr.

With lap times from race one setting the grid for race two, Houk would claim his first pole position of the season ahead of Esterson and the hard charging Sullivan. Second place finisher and winner Holtz and Schrage would line up fourth and fifth for race two on Sunday morning. Capitalizing on his inside front row starting spot, Houk went on to claim the second F1600 race win ahead of perennial front-runner Thomas Schrage and Will Holtz who completed the podium trio. Porter Aiken made his first appearance in the top-five crossing the line with a fourth-place result while Exclusive Autosports’ Joey Brienza crossed the line in fifth.

Nolan Allaer started the third and final race of the weekend on the front row courtesy of his race two fast time as Porter Aiken, Hugh Esterson, Will Holtz and Gordon Scully would take the green in the top-five. Thomas Schrage emerged from the eighteen-lap event as the eventual winner over Esterson who turned the fastest lap of the race. Bob Perona joined Schrage and Esterson on the podium finishing third overall and winning the Masters class. Will Holtz, Porter Aiken and Nolan Allaer rounded out the top-five in F1600 while Scott Rubenzer and David Livingston joined Perona on the podium in the Masters category.


Qualifying – Race 1

1.     Nathan Byrd – 1:24.076

2.     Michael Varacins – 1:24.231

3.     Robert Allaer – 1:24.809

4.     Dean Kiriluk – 1:25.587

5.     Austin Hill – 1:25.700

After qualifying second, Michael Varacins was able to power his way to the front to take the first F2000 victory of the weekend as well as the fastest lap of the race. Austin Hill improved from his fifth-place qualifying effort to stand on the podium in second as Jean Trahan made an appearance in the top-five rocketing his way to the third and final step on the podium. Pole position winner Nathan Byrd had a trying race and ended his first F2000 race of the weekend in fourth, ahead of Robert Allaer in P5.

No items found.

Qualifying – Race 2

1.     Austin Hill – 1:43.843

2.     Nathan Byrd – 1:52.763

3.     Jean Trahan – 2:00.244

4.     JT Novosielski – 2:00.413

5.     Robert Wright – 2:02.656

Jean Trahan earned his first F2000 victory of the season as he was able to climb to the top step of the podium in round two at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. Pulling double duty on the weekend and also running in the F1000 class, Nathan Byrd was able to stand on the podium yet again in P2, just ahead of Michael Varacins in third. As Trahan, Byrd and Varacins were on the podium, Austin Hill just missed out to be classified in fourth, ahead of Robert Allaer in fifth.


Qualifying – Race 1

1.     Nathan Byrd – 1:21.478

2.     Reilly Harris – 1:21.644

3.     Tommy Cadwalder – 1:21.887

4.     Stephen Hamilton – 1:24.177

5.     Douglas Hertz – 1:26.674

Nathan Byrd converted his F1000 pole position into a win as he dominated race one to score another win on the season. The #99 entry of Tommy Cadwalder was able to push his Arrive Drive Motorsports entry to a second-place finish ahead of Stephen Hamilton in third, John Wilhelmi in fourth and Reilly Harris in fifth.

Qualifying – Race

1.     Tommy Cadwalder 1:36.574

2.     Nathan Byrd – 1:36.720

3.     Reilly Harris – 1:38.571

4.     John Wilhelmi – 1:44.614

5.     Stephen Hamilton – 1:52.341

It was Nathan Byrd who made it two wins in two races on the weekend as he moved forward from his second place starting spot to take the win. Pole position winner Tommy Cadwalder was able to salvage a second-place finish as he just did not have the pace to run with Byrd. Stephen Hamilton completed the twenty-one-lap main event in third ahead of Momentum Motorsports’ Douglas Hertz and John Wilhelmi.

With the second race weekend of the 2022 season now complete, FRP will begin preparations for round three at the renowned Barber Motorsports Park May 20-22. Competitors can register by clicking HERE.

Please remember that all series news, information, results, photos, and PR will be communicated through our social media pages listed below. Please be sure to tag FRP in any posts to help us have the ability to promote you.

Be sure to follow us on social media:

Instagram: @FormulaRacePromotions

Facebook: @FormulaRacePromotions

Twitter: @FormulaRaceProm

For questions, comments or concerns, please feel free to reach out to Bob Wright or Clay Hutchinson For media inquiries, please contact us via email at