First F1600 Win for Sundaramoorthy Comes at Indy

June 11, 2017
Yuven Sundaramoorthy

Speedway, IN - The F1600 Championship Series race again came down to the last lap after a race-long battle at the front of the field as Yuven Sundaramoorthy crossed the line first for K-Hill Motorsports, taking his first ever F1600 victory in an iconic setting at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Sundaramoorthy won by a mere .039 seconds ahead of Team Pelfrey's Jonathan Kotyk, while Matthew Cowley was third and Joe Colasacco won the Masters Class.

Podium Finishers Recap:

Yuven Sundaramoorthy:

"At the start of the race I thought I had no chance. I was in sixth place and I got really lucky. There was a tangle at the front and I caught up. I went to the outside and did a bit of deep braking to get the lead."

Jonathan Kotyk:

"The last lap was pretty crazy. I was sitting back waiting and once Holden was off I knew I had a chance to move to the front. I got pinched at the line, and am happy to bring home second place. The slip stream is pretty big here, especially down the back straight due to the head wind."

Matthew Cowley:

"It's a great feeling to be on the podium but it's a shame it's not the top step. Things were out of my hands in that race and I can't control what other people were doing."

Full results are available on, and

The weekend from Indianapolis Motor Speedway continues on Sunday with afternoon races for the F1600 Series, F2000 Series and Atlantic Series.

No items found.