F2000's 2009 Rookie Class

April 1, 2009
Conor Daly (2nd), Anders Krohn (1st) and Kyle Marcelli (3rd) celebrate on the Mosport Podium after race 12. All three drivers were considered rookies in 2008.

New York, NY – The 2009 edition of the F2000 Championship Series promises to be the most competitive season yet. The series will feature an exciting crop of rookie drivers and teams, all looking to contend for race wins and the overall championship.

The story starts with Alegra Motorsports, which will be contesting the season with two rookie stars from Brazil, Fabio Orsolon and Victor Carbone. The team is used to the top step of the podium, having won the GT class in the 2007 Rolex 24 at Daytona. Orsolon and Carbone are expected to be very fast right out of the box.

JDC Motorsports adds Mexican rookie Alejandro Munoz in the #96 alongside series veteran Chris Miller. Munoz, racing out of Mexico City, tested for JDC over the winter at the Mid-America Motorplex in Iowa.

Z-Sports Midwest is set to field two new drivers in American Benjamin Searcy and Canadian Caitlin Johnston. Searcy, another young karting star and Skip Barber graduate will drive the #10 car. Caitlin Johnston will drive the #20 and ran very strong in her series debut last year at Mosport, finishing seventh in the second race. Johnston moves up from the Ontario Formula Ford Challenge Series.

Z-Sports Midwest team owner Ron Boltik is excited to work with his duo. “Rookie drivers at this level have little experience in these cars, but they do have experience,” said Boltik. “Whether that's Formula Ford, Skip Barber or karts, these drivers have a point of view based on that experience which needs consideration. Being a good listener as an owner – almost like a psychologist, you'd be amazed at what these kids can learn. This leads to results."

Group A Racing debuts their new F2000 program with two cars for the 2009 season, in addition to a World Challenge entry run under the same roof. The Long Island-based team is owned by Joe Scarallo, a familiar name in racing circles. Young American Jonathan Scarallo moves up the series after winning the Bertil Roos F2000 Series last season, collecting eight wins and 15 podiums over the 16-race season.

“All though I have had tremendous success in my career so far, this year is really going to be about learning. This is pro racing and the competition is incredibly tight. So while I will still be trying to win races and the championship, I am also looking at this as a two year program,” commented Jonathan Scarallo.

American teammate Colin Alexander lines up next to Scarallo. Alexander also moves up from the Bertil Roos Series, having won the Rookie Runoffs in 2007 and collecting eight podiums in 2008 en route to rookie of the year.

Blake Teeter joins ASDA/Wright Racing for his first season in F2000. Teeter, out of Witchita Kansas, is another karting graduate looking to move up the open wheel ladder.

The season gets underway on Thursday April 9 at Virginia International Raceway with testing in the morning and official series practice sessions in the afternoon. Friday brings qualifying and the first round of the 2009 championship with Saturday hosting another qualifying round and the second race of the season. Fans can get up to the minute news and reports on F2000ChampionshipSerires.com

No items found.