F2000 WGI Post Weekend Notebook

June 8, 2011

Watkins Glen (1) 2011: Two more wins for Remy Audette, another pole for Kyle Connery and two races that saw multiple lead changes and passing everywhere in a 30+ car field.

Audette left New York with a big Championship lead over Connery and Chris Livengood as the Series heads to Mid-Ohio at the end of the month for rounds seven and eight.


For rounds seven and eight of the 2011 Championship at Mid-Ohio, F1600 Series partner Honda Performance Development (HPD) will be out in force.

HPD will be catering lunch for the entire paddock (including F2000) on Friday and Saturday, as well as hosting a sponsorship seminar during the weekend. HPD will have its  hospitality unit onsite with shade, drinks, and more (including lunch) both on Saturday and Sunday.

Those interested in attending the sponsorship seminar that did not sign up at Watkins Glen should contact the Series immediately to reserve their space.

Afterburner Pole Awards

Following six races this year, Kyle Connery has earned three Afterburner Pole Awards. Chris Livengood, Remy Audette and Jonathan Scarallo each have one.


Looking for a washer

Ardie Greenamyer put in two solid drivers at Watkins Glen, picking up 13 positions on Saturday and another 12 on Sunday. The AcceleRace team also had to battle through a new engine swallowing a copper washer.

"This weekend's performance was a result of our commitment to perform at race time, methodically working the field to be there at the finish,” said Team Principle ML Padden.

Kasemets and Polestar

Polestar Racing Group perhaps fired across the bow of the rest of the paddock, putting open-wheel ace Tonis Kasemets in Bill Jordan’s car for a sole practice session on Friday.

On his first flying lap Kasemets went to the top of the time sheets and later was down in the 1:51.2 range, six tenths up on anyone else over the course of the weekend.

SOS Children’s Villages

The Audette Watkins Glen sweep gave the Canadian a huge lead in the SOS Children’s Villages Watkins Glen Cup. Audette leads that inner-championship, which amounts to whoever scores the most points at the Glen, with 102 points. Then it’s Chris Livengood (76), Kyle Connery (47), Ethan Ringel (46) and Ardie Greenamyer (42).

CellMark Hard Charger

Multiple-time SCCA National Champion Dave Weitzenhof is slowly escaping with the CellMark Paper season-long Hard Charger award. Weitzenhof has improved 47 positions in 2011 in his Citation chassis, and is followed by Ardie Greenamyer (36), Dan Denison (35), Chirs Livengood (24), and John LaRue (23).

New Hats!


New hats are now available from the Series. Get yours today!

Corrections and Amplifications

Sunday’s yellow-flag was caused when Tim Paul, driving the #06 SMR/GTP Motorsports Van Diemen spun in the bus stop. With nowhere to go, Zach Craigo made contact with Paul.

Both drivers had good weekends going. Craigo was up to 11th from 17th before the incident in Sunday’s race, and Paul was coming off a career-best fourth place on Saturday.

What are these?

No items found.