F1600, F2000 and Atlantic Set for 2018 Opener

April 18, 2018

Salem, NH – The F1600, F2000 and Atlantic Championship Series are set to begin with an action-packed two-day weekend at Road Atlanta, April 21-22. For Series organizer Formula Race Promotions, it marks the 13th consecutive season of racing operations, with a bright seven-weekend season ahead.


A growing F1600 Championship Series is set to welcome a deep and talented entry list at Road Atlanta, which sees the first three of 21 races of the year run in a tight two-day window filled with track time.

Multiple-time Series Champion K-Hill Motorsports is leading the charge, with a four-car team composed of Baylor Griffin, Tyler O’Conner, Dario Cangialosi and Yuven Sundaramoorthy, in his second F1600 season.

Sundaramoorthy is the only driver in the field with a win in the F1600 Championship Series.

Cangialosi, like many other aspiring drivers in the field, is hoping to transition from a successful karting career to cars, starting with F1600. He is coming off a karting title and handful of club races in F1600.

Teammate Tyler O’Conner pointed to a season of learning and strong results.

"For 2018 I hope to continue learning as much as I can, and improve my racecraft throughout the year,” said O’Conner. “Ultimately we would like to be fighting for podiums and race wins in as many events as possible. This season is definitely not going to be easy. The level of competition is very high, and the nature of F1600 racing means every lap is going to be intense. I expect the championship will come down to the final race at New Jersey Motorsports Park. Every race is important, and maximizing our result in each round will be our top priority.”

In addition, 2015 Series Champion Exclusive Autosport has a two car entry for Marco Kacic and Kellen Ritter, while 2014 and 2017 Championship-winning squad Team Pelfrey is expected to be back.

A strong Masters Class field is represented by Mike Scanlan, Joel Haas, Dave Petzko, Scott Rubenzer and Sam Lockwood, whose Lockwood Raceworks is also fielding a car for Ryan Bjerke.

More entries include Chris Kierce, Chris Horan, Charles Anti, Christian Lall Dass and Dexter Czuba.


Brandon Dixon is set to defend his 2017 Championship as the F2000 Championship Series opens with rounds one and two of 14 at Road Atlanta this weekend. Dixon is the only driver in the field with an F2000 Series victory.

Dixon will face off against some of last year’s fastest drivers: Tim Paul and Steve Jenks, who are both back for another season of competition with the same teams; Paul, in the R-Sport entry, and Jenks, for Tuemas Motorsports.

Rob Allaer, after a strong start to 2017, will be in a Van Diemen/Mazda for Polestar, while Simon Sikes has made the move from F1600 competition to F2000, now with Primus Racing.

Reece Everard ran at the front of the field in last year’s series debut, and is set for a comeback to the paddock in the No. 61 machine.

Other newcomers include Davis Durrett and James Roe in Van Diemen/Mazda entries, while a trio of F4 cars will also participate, with entries from both Jay Howard Driver Development and K-Hill Motorsports.


A mix of young talent and established racers are making up the 2018 Atlantic Championship Series grid at Road Atlanta for the opening doubleheader weekend of the season.

Masters Class Champion Bruce Hamilton is back for K-Hill Motorsports, now with a new engine package from Mazda in his Swift 014.

Hamilton will be joined by 17-year-old Baltazar Laguizamon at K-Hill, which won the Series title in 2017 with driver Peter Portante.

“I’m very proud to be driving for K-Hill Motorsports in the 2018 Atlantic season,” said Leguizamon. “We have been working closely together as a team and I believe that we have everything we need to be very strong this season. I would like to thank Kris Kasier, his family, all of the team, Tonis Kasemets and Rafa Matos for giving me the opportunity to work with such a professional and competitive team.”

A pair of Comprent drivers are also expected to do battle. Bob Corliss spent most of last year battling with Hamilton for Masters Class wins in the Robert Talbott Swift 014, while Richard Zober is coming off his fir Atlantic win in the No. 66 Zober Industries Swift 016/Mazda. Zober took home top honors in round 13 at New Jersey Motorsports Park in 2017, and has always been quick at Road Atlanta.

Spencer Brockman is set to round out the entry list in an Ove Olsson Engineering Swift 014/Mazda.

No items found.