F1600, F2000 and Atlantic Head for Mid-Ohio

June 27, 2017

Salem, NH - The F1600, F2000 and Atlantic Championship Series head to Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course for Formula Race Promotions’ traditional three-day summer weekend at the classic circuit. Coming off a competitive event at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, the title fight is intense across all three Championships, which mark the mid-points of their 2017 seasons this weekend in Ohio.


Rounds: 2017 Season Rounds 9, 10, 11

Points Leaders: Matthew Cowley (335), Zach Holden (313), Jonathan Kotyk (284), Yuven Sundaramoorthy (256), David Osbourn (236), Joe Colasacco (Masters - 220)

2017 Race Winners: Matthew Cowley, Zach Holden, Jonathan Kotyk, Yuven Sundaramoorthy

Indy Winners: Jonathan Kotyk, Yuven Sundaramoorthy

Mid-Ohio May Recap: Matthew Cowley became the first driver in F1600 history to win three races in one day in a dominating performance for Team Pelfrey. He battled closely with Zach Holden for two of the three wins.

Other Key Talking Points

- An ultra-tight Championship is forming between the top drivers in F1600. A driver sweeping all three race wins can take home 150 points before bonuses for fast laps come into play. There are also bonus points available for the pole position in race one.

- After winning in regional competition last weekend, Andrew Bujdoso will make his pro debut for K-Hill Motorsports.

- A large contingent of Masters Class drivers are expected, including Mike Scanlan, Lewis Cooper III, Joel Haas, Chuck Horn, Tom Schwietz and Kevin Brumbaugh, along with John Dole and Dan Pyanowski.


Rounds: 2017 Season Rounds 7, 8

Points Leaders: Brandon Dixon (214), Steve Jenks (183), John LaRue (160), Robert Allaer (145), Tim Paul (145)

2017 Race Winners: John LaRue, Nicolas Palacio, Brandon Dixon, Austin McCusker

Indy Winners: John LaRue (2x)

Mid-Ohio May Recap: John LaRue and Austin McCusker split the wins at a two-day event weekend at Mid-Ohio in May.

Other Key Talking Points

- Robert Allaer and Tim Paul, who finished second and third, respectively, on Sunday in Indianapolis, are coming off their best results of the season. Allaer matched pace with LaRue’s No. 17 in the closing stages of the race.

- Reece Everard, who narrowly missed out on winning the season opener, will be back behind the wheel of the No. 61 Van Diemen this weekend.


Rounds: 2017 Season Rounds 7, 8

Points Leaders: Peter Portante (297), Keith Grant (255), David Grant (249), Bruce Hamilton (113)

2017 Race Winners: Peter Portante, Keith Grant

Indy Winners: Peter Portante (2x)

Mid-Ohio May Recap: Peter Portante won both races for K-Hill Motorsports despite an electrical issue.

Other Key Talking Points

- Portante has shared the podium at every race this year with David and Keith Grant. The K-Hill driver is riding a five-race win streak but the Grants and Polestar have traditionally been extremely strong at Mid-Ohio. The Indy weekend saw both David and Keith have the pace to win on Sunday afternoon.

No items found.