F1600 and F2000 Competitors Complete Formula Race Promotions Event at Lime Rock Park

June 1, 2023

It was nothing but sunshine and blue skies at Lime Rock Park in Lakeville, Connecticut this past weekend, a great change from the wet weather highlighting the first two rounds of the Formula Race Promotions program of the season. With two FRP classes taking part in the Lime Rock SpeedTour event weekend. The F1600 class was highlighted by three different winners in three races while returning FRP veteran Peter Portante swept the F2000 festivities claiming top honors in every official session over the weekend.

“It was a great weekend at Lime Rock Park,” explained FRP Co-Owner Bob Wright. “We can’t thank all our teams and competitors enough for racing with us on the holiday weekend. We had three different winners in F1600 which shows the challenging program that we offer, and we are looking forward to being back on track at the Pittsburgh International Race Complex, starting June 8th with a full day of testing, and then a full weekend of racing. We have over 160 registrants for our next event, so if you haven’t yet registered, please do so NOW.”



1. Ely Navarro – 53.977

2. Jack Sullivan – 54.158

3. Porter Aiken – 54.325

4. Misha Golkhberg – 54.368

5. Joel Colasacco – 54.393

The Race

Starting from the outside of the front row for the first wheel-to-wheel action of the weekend, Jack Sullivan rocketed his way to the front of the 25-lap race to put his 2009 Sullivan Racing prepared Piper DF-5 at the top of the results sheet. Following suit, Porter Aiken was able to gain one position from his third-place starting spot to cross the line in second while pole position winner Ely Navarro dropped two places to come home third and celebrate with Sullivan and Aiken on the podium. Misha Golkhberg was the best of the rest finishing fourth, just ahead of Ayrton Houk in P5. With the fastest lap of race one, Aiken secured the premier inside row one starting spot for the second race on Sunday morning. Joe Colasacco earned the F1600 Masters win with Ken Bouquillon and Bob Reid joining him on the podium in second and third.

Showing his speed in race one to earn the race two pole position, it was Houk’s time to shine in race two as he led a Rice Race Prep one-two finish. With Houk climbing his way to the podium's top step, Misha Goikhberg crossed the line in the second position, keeping Houk honest over the 18-lap affair. Dillon Defonce led a pair of Team Pelfrey drivers to the third and fourth spots leading Masters winner Ken Bouquillon across the line as the two dominant teams in F1600 competition occupied the top-four spots. Callum Baxter was able to round out the top-five.  Joining Bouquillon on the Masters podium, after fierce battles farther down the field were Bob Perona and Joe Colasacco in second and third. While Ely Navarro earned the race’s fastest lap and accompanying pole position for the third and final race on the weekend, he collected Porter Aiken with a race-ending flip on Lap 17. With no chance to repair the Rice Race Team car #01, teammate Misha Goikhberg would give up his #03 car to Ely, requiring a back-of-the-race three-grid start for Ely.

Though race was shortened to a timed race (23 Laps) due to some mid-race yellow flag cleanup, it became a multi-lap, position-swapping, three-way battle for the podium within the lead pack. At the Checker for the third and final F1600 race of the weekend, it would be Aiken Racing's Porter Aiken back on top, closely followed by Masters Driver Joe Colasacco and Ayrton Houk. Clawing his way from last to 4th was Ely Navarro, while (Sebastian) Mateo Naranjo, a new name in the top-five, had a photo finish battle eking out veteran Masters driver Bob Perona for fifth. Joining Joe Colasacco on the Masters Podium were the familiar competitors of Bob Perona and Rob Albani.



1. Peter Portante – 50.373

2. Eric Presbrey – 51.373

3. Robert Wright – 51.584

4. Keaton Van Thof – 51.935

5. Gabriele Jasper – 52.701

The Race

Cordova Motorsports and returning FRP veteran driver Peter Portante dominated the 26-lap F2000 race as he stretched his legs and ran away with the victory. Scoring the fastest race lap, nearly four-tenths of a second quicker than any of his closest rivals, Portante looked to be the driver to beat this weekend. JT Novosielski, who crashed in the second practice session, only qualified sixth with his hastily repaired car, but was able to move his way through the field to claim the second step on the podium, just ahead of Robert Wright in third. It was Nathan Byrd who put his Arrive Drive Motorsports entry into the fourth position after starting last because of no qualifying time, and Gabriele Jasper rounded out the top-five for Cordova Motorsports.

With the fastest lap in race one, Peter Portante lined up for race two from the pole position as he looked to sweep the weekend of competition. To his outside, was Novosielski who aimed to take the heat to Portante with Nathan Byrd starting third. Portante completed the task of a weekend sweep as he once again dominated the F2000 class scoring the race win in a flag-to-flag victory on route to the fastest lap of the event at 51.421. JT Novosielski and Nathan Byrd completed the podium as the top-three remained unchanged through their final wheel-to-wheel race on the weekend. Robert Wright was fourth on the result sheets with Gabriel Jasper in the fifth position.

It is a quick turnaround as next up for FRP teams and competitors will be a trip to Pennsylvania and the Pittsburgh International Race Complex over the June 8-11 weekend. Registration is open HERE. Be sure to stay tuned to the Formula Race Promotions social media pages and website for registration information.

Please remember that all series news, information, results, photos, and PR will be communicated through our social media pages listed below. Please be sure to tag FRP in any posts to help us have the ability to promote you.

Be sure to follow us on Social Media:

Instagram: @FormulaRacePromotions

Facebook: @FormulaRacePromotions

Twitter: @FormulaRaceProm

For questions, comments or concerns, please feel free to reach out to Bob Wright RobertW@RaceFRP.com or Clay Hutchison ClayH@RaceFRP.com. For media inquiries, please contact us via email at Media@RaceFRP.com.

No items found.