Eidson Closes F1600 Season with Summit Point Win

August 25, 2013
Jake Eidson closed the year with another win. (photo: Valet)

Summit Point, WV – Jake Eidson closed his 2013 F1600 Formula F Championship Series title-winning campaign with a decisive victory at Summit Point in the season finale race that turned into an all-out battle between four cars for the win. Eidson took the lead with a few laps to go and managed lapped traffic coming to the flag to take his record-breaking seventh victory of the year by mere inches over Aaron Telitz and Adrian Starrantino. Ayla Agren was fourth.

 Eidson clinched the title with a third place drive on Saturday at Summit Point, and with Sunday’s win, has victories in seven of 12 races, taking wins at every track except VIR, where he finished second both days.

“That was by far the most exciting race of the year,” said Eidson, who drives for Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing in the No. 10 Spectrum/Honda. “There were four of us going all out and trading positions lap after lap. I have to thank the Capes for a great car not only today, but all season.”

Telitz finish second by a hair over Starrantino, reversing Saturday’s race where he missed the win by what amounted to millimeters in a side-by-side finish.

“It was close,” said Telitz, just after climbing out of the No. 13 WISKO Racing Mygale/Honda. “That lapped car forced me to the inside coming onto the front straight and I knew it was going to be close”

The 21-year-old Wisconsin-native led multiple laps in the season finale, and will head to Florida with Starrantino and Eidson for the Team USA shootout this week.

Starrantino came home third to take second in the point standings for Bryan Herta Autosport ahead of Telitz.

“I thought yesterday’s race was crazy, but today topped it,” said Starrantino. “That was a good way to finish the year.”

Teammate Agren followed in fourth after starting from pole and also leading a handful of laps in her No. 96 Mygale/Honda while Steve Bamford took another Masters Class win with a fifth place finish.

Franklin Futrelle and Art Foster followed in sixth and seventh, while Sam Chastain put in a solid drive to come to the finish line in eighth place for Bryan Herta Autosport. Austin McCusker got the better of Mike Scanlan after a race-long contest to finish ninth with Scanlan following.

The 20-lap race stayed green despite a relatively big incident on the front straight involving Jim Goughary, who went sideways into a tire barrier, catching air. Goughary was able to walk away without assistance, but with heavy damage to his No. 7 Van Diemen/Honda.

Recapping the 2013 season, three drivers took wins, with Eidson winning seven races, Starrantino four and Telitz one.

With the 12-race 2013 F1600 Formula F Championship Series season in the books, drivers and teams head to the awards banquet later in the day for a night of trophies, checks and more. 2014 news and updates will be released soon on www.f1600series.com, including an expanded schedule featuring 14 races and seven weekends.

Race Results

PosNo.NameLapsBest TmMake/ModelDiff 1 10 Jake Eidson 20 1:14.798 Spectrum Honda - 2 13 Aaron Telitz 20 1:14.805 Mygale Honda +0.044 3 98 Adrian Starrantino 20 1:14.729 Mygale Honda +0.046 4 96 Ayla Agren 20 1:14.530 Mygale Honda +3.772 5 07 Steve Bamford/M 20 1:15.310 Mygale Honda +12.142 6 9 Franklin Futrelle 20 1:15.651 Van Diemen Honda +13.999 7 21 Art Foster/M 20 1:15.759 Spectrum Honda +15.323 8 97 Sam Chastain 20 1:15.294 Mygale Honda +15.395 9 06 Austin McCusker 20 1:16.497 Van Diemen Honda +54.375 10 2 Mike Scanlan/M 20 1:17.281 Swift DB6 Honda +56.690 11 44 Ed Callo/M 18 1:19.272 Bowman Ford 2 Laps 12 5 Dan Oseth 16 1:16.268 Van Diemen Honda 4 Laps 13 7 Jim Goughary/M 13 1:15.586 Van Diemen Honda 7 Laps 14 42 Joe Parsons/M 11 1:17.555 Swift DB6 Ford 9 Laps DNF 55 Ray Phillips/M 6 1:17.907 Van Diemen Honda 14 Laps DNS 66 Paul Alspach 0 -.--- Mygale Honda -

No items found.