Carbone Goes Flag-to-Flag at Mosport

June 13, 2010

Bowmanville, ONT – Victor Carbone took his fourth win in six races by taking a solid victory at Mosport in his Alegra Motorsports Van Diemen. The 17-year old Brazilian started from pole and held off an early challenge from Cole Morgan before pulling out a gap en route to the checkered flag. Carbone opens a bigger championship lead over 2007 F2000 title winner, Cole Morgan, who finished second with yesterday’s run-away winner, Remy Audette, rounding off the podium.

“It wasn’t as easy as it may have looked,” said Carbone, who also ran the fastest lap of the race and picks up more bonus points. “I got a great start and then just pushed from there and looked forward.”

Cole Morgan, on his 22nd birthday, brought home some more hardware for Liberty Motorsports with a solid second place finish.

“It was a good race and relatively uneventful from where I was,” Morgan commented. Yesterday, in a crazy wet race, Morgan went from the front, to the back, back to the front and managed to finish third with a loose right front wheel assembly. “Victor (Carbone) did a great job and the Alegra guys are just a class act all around.”

Quebec’s Remy Audette was third in the #21 Audette Racing Van Diemen, after a highly entertaining battle with Tim Minor, who settled for fourth and the Masters Class victory.

“The car was fast at the start and it ended up going away as the race developed,” Minor said. “The battle with Remy (Audette) was lots of fun, he’s got a ton of laps around here and it’s only my second time here.”

Phil Lombardi completed the top five for GTP Motorsports.

Keith McCrone made it two six places in two days with a solid run for R-Sport. Seven-time SCCA National Champion Dave Weitzenhof finished seventh in his Citation-chassis, followed by Bobby Caldwell. Chris Livengood was ninth in a car that was thrown back together overnight following a huge crash on Saturday. Peter Gonzalez rounded out the top ten in another GTP Motorsports Van Diemen.

After a wild race on Saturday, the F2000 Series drivers were relatively clean as the race ran its complete distance without any caution flags.

Jonathan Scarallo, Fabio Orsolon and Paul Farmer did not take part in the race as their cars were not repaired in time following high-profile crashes during Saturday’s wet sessions. Ardie Greenamyer also missed the race after crashing in early-morning qualifying.

Bob Wright had a massive gearbox failure during morning qualifying, and was able to jump in GTP Motorsports’ backup Van Diemen for the race, keeping his ironman status, having started every F2000 Championship Series race ever. The only other man to do it is fellow Masters Class competitor Craig Clawson.

The F2000 Championship Series continues on July 4th weekend, with the IndyCar Series at Watkins Glen International.

No items found.