Bamford First at the Glen

May 16, 2016

Watkins Glen, NY - From pole, Steve Bamford led all laps to win round four of the 2016 F2000 season on Sunday afternoon at Watkins Glen. Bamford led a hard-charging David Grant on the initial start, and fended off an attack on a restart to win his third race of the season and extend his points lead. Grant finished second for Polestar, while John McCusker charged to third late in the race for the final podium spot in cold weather conditions.

Grant finished second to score more points in the No. 29 Spectrum, a nice bounce back after a rough result on Saturday when his race ended with damage.

McCusker made moves late in the race and caught Grant but couldn't get by, finishing third in the Dotworks Racing Van Diemen.

Weitzenhof, who won pole on Saturday, started second and settled for fourth, while Davy D'Addario put in his best drive to date with a strong fifth place finish in the No. 37 Van Diemen.

Saturday winner Matt McDonough ran as high as third but fell back to sixth, where he eventually finished in the No. 69 Radon Sport entry.

Tim Paul charged through the field from last to finish seventh for Screaming Monkey Racing in the No. 06 Screaming Monkey Racing Van Diemen.

Jayson Clunie, who finished second in Saturday's rain race, was eighth, followed by Robert Wright and Bob Reid.

The race saw a full-course caution period for an incident involving Chris Gumprecht and Jenna Grillo, sidelining both drivers.

No items found.