Audette Wins Wild Wet Race at Mosport

June 13, 2010
Audette ran away at Mosport

Bowmanville, ONT – Remy Audette led every lap in a crazy rain race at Mosport to take a commanding victory that saw a 25-second lead at one point in the middle of the race. Quebec’s Audette started from pole and was in control for the entire race, which went to the 30-minute time window due to two caution periods. And while Audette ran away with the race, there was epic action throughout the deep F2000 field. Phil Lombardi finished second ahead of Cole Morgan, Victor Carbone and Tim Minor.

“That was just an amazing race,” said Audette, who won by 20.275 seconds. “I was on the limit the entire way and we went to the wet tires at the last second, and the track just kept changing. This is also special because it is my first win at Mosport.”

Audette also set the fastest lap of the race by some two full seconds.

The false grid saw some controlled chaos as almost the entire field showed up on Hoosier slicks, and with six minutes before cars were scheduled to roll, the skies opened. Teams raced to change to rain tires and make any adjustments they could. But as the green flag dropped it was clear no one would be able to get near Audette as more chaos ensued back in the field.

Chris Livengood made contact with the turn one wall on the first lap after contact with Keith McCrone, to end his day with heavy damage to the #37 and bring out a lengthy caution period. The American rookie, driving with Zetec power for the first time, couldn’t capitalize on his best career starting position of sixth.

Phil Lombardi stayed out of trouble in the GTP Motorsports Van Diemen to finish second and take the Masters Class victory.

“First in Masters and a second place, with wet tires and a dry setup, this is pretty good,” Lombardi commented. “It was a wild ride from where I was sitting.”

Morgan was third.

Meanwhile, fellow American and Liberty Motorsports driver Cole Morgan spun exiting turn two on the opening lap, dropped all the way back to last and proceeded to pick off cars en route to a third place finish, and managed to get as high as second. Camber shims that fell out of the right front wheel assembly hindered Morgan’s second-place run as the 2007 F2000 title holder hung on for an impressive third place finish and clawed back a couple points on Victor Carbone.

However, Carbone still has a healthy lead in the race for the national championship as the Brazilian brought the Alegra Motorsports #26 home in fourth.

“I had a terrible start and need more experience driving in the wet,” Carbone, who started from the outside pole, said. “The rain was the biggest problem and I just tried to follow the guys in front of me and brought it home for the points.”

Tim Minor rounded out the top five ahead of Keith McCrone, who was missing half the front wing in the R-Sport #5 due to contact with Chris Livengood.

The start at Mosport

“On the start we were three wide, and I just hung on,” said McCrone. “From there on out it was just white knuckle all the way.”

Dave Weitzenhof, in the Citation chassis, came home seventh, with Brent Gilkes, Robert Wright and Craig Clawson following to complete the top ten.

Perhaps experience and patience were the keys to success today at Mosport, with seven out of the top ten drivers being Masters Class competitors.

Fabio Orsolon, Carbone’s Alegra Motorsports teammate, came home with a DNF in 19th as the Brazilian had heavy impact in the closing stages of the race.

Additionally, with two laps to go Paul Farmer and Bobby Caldwell made contact to send both those cars home on the hook.

Notably, Ardie Greenamyer finished 16th without a rear wing and ran the entire race on slick tires.

R-Sport’s Jonathan Scarallo did not make the start following a big crash in qualifying.

The F2000 action from Mosport continues tomorrow with a 9:40am qualifying session for round two of the weekend, at 11:45am. Fans can follow live updates on Twitter @F2000.

Race Results
Pos No. Name Laps Total Tm Diff Gap Avg. Speed Best Tm 1 21 Remy Audette 16 31:13.250 - - 75.611 1:38.032 2 3 Phil Lombardi/M 16 31:33.525 +20.275 +20.275 74.801 1:40.101 3 1 Cole Morgan 16 31:51.772 +38.522 +18.247 74.087 1:40.391 4 23 Victor Carbone 16 31:56.797 +43.547 +5.025 73.893 1:42.610 5 88 Tim Minor/M 16 32:07.215 +53.965 +10.418 73.494 1:41.230 6 5 Keith McCrone/M 16 32:10.151 +56.901 +2.936 73.382 1:42.821 7 67 Dave Weitzenhof/M 16 32:19.111 +1:05.861 +8.960 73.043 1:44.067 8 7 Brent Gilkes/M 16 32:53.869 +1:40.619 +34.758 71.757 1:44.144 9 90 Robert Wright/M 16 32:55.915 +1:42.665 +2.046 71.682 1:44.642 10 27 Craig Clawson/M 15 31:19.313 1 Lap 1 Lap 70.657 1:48.092 11 70 Peter Gonzalez/M 15 31:24.504 +5.191 +5.191 70.462 1:47.411 12 51 Dan Denison/M 15 31:51.171 +31.858 +26.667 69.479 1:46.219 13 85 Zach Craigo 15 32:29.228 +1:09.915 +38.057 68.122 1:53.032 14 94 Al Guibord,Sr./M 15 32:47.526 +1:28.213 +18.298 67.489 1:57.586 15 95 Blake Teeter 14 31:27.510 2 Laps 1 Lap 65.660 2:00.567 16 28 Ardie Greenamyer/M 14 32:24.143 +56.633 +56.633 63.747 2:00.374 17 80 Bobby Caldwell 12 25:23.107 4 Laps 2 Laps 69.745 1:46.217 18 69 Paul Farmer/M 11 25:20.681 5 Laps 1 Lap 64.035 1:59.264 DNF 26 Fabio Orsolon 7 16:14.398 9 Laps 4 Laps 63.595 1:50.403 DNF 73 Vaughn Horvath 4 9:59.822 12 Laps 3 Laps 59.034 2:05.984 DNF 37 Chris Livengood 0 4.439 16 Laps 4 Laps - -.--- DNF 11 Jesse Yorio 0 9.706 +5.267 +5.267 - -.--- DNS 22 Jonathon Scarallo 0 -.--- - - - -.---

No items found.