2007 F2000 Champion Cole Morgan in for VIR

March 26, 2010
Morgan is back for the first time since taking the 2007 title.

New York, NY – Add another car and yet another team to the opening weekend at VIR for the F2000 Championship Series. 2007 Series champion Cole Morgan returns to the F2000 Series for the first time since winning the season finale at Lime Rock Park to take his championship almost two and a half years ago. He will drive the #1 RF06 Van Diemen for a joint venture between Greisiger Motorsports and K-Hill Motorsports.

It will be Morgan’s inaugural race with the team, and team President Kurt Greisiger said that, “the program is focused on young drivers with potential.

“We’re thrilled to have Cole (Morgan) drive for us in 2010,” Greisiger continued. “We are also pleased to return to the F2000 Series for the first time since 2008. The Series is a proven winner in developing competitors who aspire to go to the next level.”

Greisiger Motorsports campaigned a full-season F2000 Championship Series effort in 2007, swelling at one point to eight cars, and a slightly reduced multi-car effort in 2008 before concentrating on the SCCA Run-Offs in 2009 where the Triad Magnetics Van Diemen finished second.

Morgan returns to his first professional race since 2007, where he missed the opening weekend and went on to win six of ten races, taking three poles and eight top five finishes, including sweeping the events at Watkins Glen and Lime Rock.

“My expectations are as high as you can possibly imagine,” commented the 2007 Series champion. “Last time I ran a race in F2000 I won and took the championship, so anything short of a win will be a disappointment. I’m not here to participate; I’m here to continue to make a name for myself as well as K-Hill and Greisiger.

“The series is easily as competitive as it was in 2007, which means it is tough. Winning as much as we did in 2007 took as much skill and strategy as it did luck.”

Morgan, who had the opportunity to test an Indy Lights car following his championship run in 2007, acknowledged that: “The cool thing about the series is you have such a mix of talent. Remy Audette is quick, and you can’t rule out Victor (Carbone) or Fabio (Orsolon) either, plus (Jonathan) Scarallo. And then you have some of the Masters Class guys that are also just as quick, like Tim Minor.

"I'm very thankful to Kris Kaiser and Kurt Greisiger for the opportunity they have given me this year. I've been running 2.0 liter cars for a few years now and it's really cool to know my results haven't gone unnoticed. It is very hard these days to find people that are in the business not only for the money, but to help promote the young talent in American open wheel racing.

“I also have to thank everyone who is supporting me this year. Silicon Salvage, Triad Magnetics, and Morgan Homes have been a huge part in this season becoming a reality; it wouldn't be possible without them. I also want to thank Sparco, Carbotech, Dynamic Suspensions and FK Rod Ends for their support.”

The 14-race, seven-weekend 2010 F2000 Championship Series gets going on April 9 at VIR, followed by Road Atlanta in May and Mosport in June. Then it’s Watkins Glen with IndyCar and Lime Rock with ALMS in July before Road America in August and the season finale at Mid-Ohio over Labor Day. The F2000 Series posted the highest average car count on the open wheel development landscape in 2008 and 2009 with an average of 30 entries per race.


No items found.